New Year, New Beginning

I’ve never been a New Years Junkie. Not one to make big plans for New Years Eve, nor make grand resolutions. I’ve always found it interesting how the New Year somehow signifies some great change for all of us. Here’s the thing, I’ve read the books, I get it. Accomplishing New Year’s resolutions is about goal setting, willpower, being realistic, and a multitude of other things. The trouble is, “life happens” in between all of our wants for the new year. Then when November/December roll back around, we are left with this feeling of disappointment that we have somehow failed. For me… I’ve chosen to not set new year’s resolutions in the past to avoid that looming failure. Can’t fail if you don’t try, right? Truth is, you can and do. I’ve realized in recent months that the inability to take risks in life is the epitome of failing. I’m not talking about risking your life savings on a half-cracked business venture or putting your family or health at risk. I’m talking about calculated risks that have the potential to lead to new opportunities and experiences. Obviously there is a chance those risks will crash and burn (like this blog idea of mine). But it’s not about the end result, it’s about what might present itself along the way. There is also a chance there might not be any noteworthy change or discovery, but its like winning the lottery, you can’t possibly win if you don’t buy a ticket.

I’m still not a fan of the whole “resolution” idea, mainly because it’s only done once a year. But I do believe that the ability to TRY outweighs the disappointment of regret. I have no desire to make goals like lose 10 pounds, stop eating sugar, exercise daily, blah blah blah. Would I like to lose 10 lbs? Of Course. But the reality is it’s a short term gain. It’s not going to better me as a person in the long run (ok, maybe… but truth be told 10lbs is not going to make or break me). I also don’t think there is value in setting goals that don’t come from a deeper need. The things I would love to accomplish this year are likely to be harder but I’m hoping with a greater reward in the long run. Now I’m not suggesting that if you have a goal to lose weight in the new year, you shouldn’t make it a resolution. But please consider this disclaimer; “What’s the use in losing 10lbs in January only to gain it back by June?” Make a plan to make that resolution happen and be realistic that throughout the year that particular resolution may develop into something completely different. Go with the flow and enjoy the ride. Always remember the bigger picture.

In 2017 I will work toward:

1. Spend more quality time with my husband
-try to plan 1 date night a month, practice having conversations without the distraction of our electronic devices, plan 2 parent vacations

2. Spend more quality time with my children
-try to plan 2 family activities a month, spend 30 min in the evening with each of my children exclusively without the distraction of our electronic devices, plan 2 family vacations

3. Take time for me
-come up with a daily “unwind” routine and execute it, try to get 1 massage a month, try to get to the gym at work 2x/week (this would be impressive if I do it, I really dislike working out)

4. Book 4 new clients in 2017
-continue promoting my business Facebook page, attend 4 networking events, continue to work towards my certification (with hopes to be complete by June).

Sounds so easy when you write it down, doesn’t it. HA! The reality is I know it’s possible (even probable) I may not achieve all of these things exactly as they are laid out. I understand now that it isn’t about what I’ve checked off my list, it’s that I’m trying to make changes to be the best version of me I can. So here’s to a new year, new opportunities and with any luck a little fun along the way.

If you are interested in some excellent motivational and goal setting books I strongly encourage:

The School of Greatness by Lewis Howes
The Happiness Equation by Neil Pasricha
Wellth: How I Learned to Build a Life, Not a Resume by Jason Wachob

One thought on “New Year, New Beginning

  1. Pingback: Business of Self Care – Part I | Mindless Ramblings of an Everyday Woman

Leave a Reply

