Mommy-cation

After a brief escape from my life, I learned 5 things:

  1. I love travelling (even alone)
  2. I can accomplish a lot when I’m not on a schedule
  3. Technology makes travelling alone WAY less lonely
  4. Underwear is over-rated
  5. Rompers are the cats pajamas

I stayed at the Westin Mission Hills Resort and Spa in Palm Springs. If you’ve never been, by all means you can take my word for it. ITS AMAZING! The staff, the facility, everything was wonderful. I spent the entire trip making plans to return.

20170523_190200

There are so many amazing takeaways from my little getaway experiment. It was easy, I got much needed rest and relaxation and I proved to myself that travelling alone is not as awful as I thought it would be. I was finally able to sit outside my life for a few days and reflect on where I am and where I want to be. As I mentioned in my “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained” post, this trip was brought on by the overwhelming need to escape my responsibilities. My life had become a burden and I felt such intense pressure to be everything to everyone. I spent 4 days doing nothing but what I wanted and a magical thing happened… I became immensely grateful for everything in my life. Prior to this trip, I was stuck in a rut. Not really understanding what the hell I worked so hard for and truly believing I was failing in almost every aspect of my life as a mother and wife. I work very hard to provide for my family and like many women, felt it was my job to sacrifice and put everyone else’s needs before my own. While it’s secretly penned (in very fine detail) into the motherhood job description to put your children before yourself, what I’ve learned is that doesn’t mean you must neglect your own needs, wants and desires. I’m tired of believing that in order to be a good mother I’m not allowed to want for myself.

During my trip I read an entire book without interruption. WHAT!! It was amazing. I also unknowingly picked the perfect book. “Recipes for a Beautiful Life – A Memoir in Stories” by Rebecca Barry. This woman gives such a powerful depiction of how hard it is to be a working mother of 2 children. All the while trying to follow her dreams and balance the pressures of motherhood and wifedom.  Any woman who might even remotely relate should read this book. It’s raw, real and not surprisingly funny. I spent my mornings leisurely drinking coffee and writing on my patio. My afternoons were relaxed by the pool reading, enjoying a cocktail or two and the sun on my skin. My evenings were just as uneventful but equally blissful, wandering the resort and binge watching bad Netflix television while crocheting until midnight. Doesn’t sound so bad or scary now does it? Seriously, I challenge anyone who thinks they couldn’t travel alone to consider it.

While another day or so would’ve been lovely, I returned to reality with more confidence and energy than I’ve had since before I had children. I have a much more grateful heart and am working on being mindful of my limitations. I’m excited to have the motivation to once again build and create the things I want in my life.

Leave a Reply

